Because I love you, Daryl

Back in April I made a short-sleeved sweater with a Peter Pan collar. The collar was made of this FANTASTIC fingering yarn by Mode Knits in the color Daryl Dixon as part of their Knitting Dead series. I got it during the only yarn crawl I’ve ever participated in, Yarn Crawl LA 2014. It starts with a really great tan/brown base speckled with pinky-reds, green, black, and undyed spots. Seriously, it’s gorgeous. Pairing it with the green body of the short-sleeved sweater was an unexpectedly beautiful union, which lead to the need for a matching hat to complete the look.

The Rustling Leaves Beret by Alana Dakos was the first thing that came to mind. The body of the hat is covered in large leaves, which I thought would look great combined with the yarn. Other crafting duties took priority over the hat so I let it sit for a bit. Recently, I’ve been on a real hat kick as this chap-ode to Daryl Dixon is the third one I’ve made within a one-month period. I think the only other time I’ve ever made this many hats was when I made them for babies. They’re much smaller. If it weren’t for my slight terror of trying a new technique, I’d have moved straight on to a shawl instead of taking a detour through the Hat-mosphere. And, as much fun as I was having, I knew my accessory-making days were numbered. These hats were my Spring Break in Cabo and I was determined to make Daryl Dixon my last kiss goodbye.


I cast on the required stitches using the long-tail method, and I used the magic loop instead of dpns. It knit up quickly, and the written instructions were easy to follow, however a chart is included for those who prefer that method. I didn’t run into any problems in the pattern, and I’m really happy with the results. It doesn’t quite have the classic shape of a beret but that doesn’t detract from its loveliness. It was a good choice for the final hat in my detour. Daryl’s Beret will definitely be part of the rotation for my new fall wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

