I Went on an Adventure!

I haven’t been knitting a lot lately, but with good reason. The Husband and I rented a minivan and took the kids on a road trip to SLC over an extended weekend to visit my grandparents. My grandfather has been battling cancer for over a year, but his doctors recently gave up since his most recent round of chemo didn’t show much improvement. We had already planned a visit over the summer but it looked like sooner would be better than later. We chose the sweet spot between the holiday and birthdays for our Family Adventure.

As far as road trips go, it was actually pretty good. The kids were entertained with their comic books and a movie or two on the tablet when traffic got slow. We spent two full days in SLC with very early departures (4:/5:00 a.m.) bookending our multi-state journey. A bit whirlwind, yes, but totally worth it.

The kids got to meet their step-cousins for the first time, and they all had a blast playing together. In fact, they had so much fun, they slept through most of the next morning–something they never do. My boys are diehard party animals, and their step-cousins turned out to be massive partiers, too. They jumped on a giant trampoline, got into a water fight, enjoyed pool time, and random playing–for five hours. Five whole hours devoted to the children wearing themselves out with minimal adult supervision. It was delicious. But, silly me thought someone was bound to wake up horrifyingly early after their 11:30pm bedtime. I turned out to be wrong.

The children slept until 9:30 the next morning, which is something I’ve never seen them do as a collective unit. Usually, my youngest will be the early riser who wakes his brothers up to celebrate the sun’s daily rising. I was prepared for this and woke up at 6:30. I was alone for about an hour-and-a-half before I was over it. I got ready for the day with the intention of going downstairs for the breakfast provided by the hotel. My husband roused as soon as I was ready but encouraged me to go down and grab some nosh. I took the opportunity to watch some Supernatural and work on my sleeve.


The kids eventually came down, just narrowly missing the breakfast cut-off. Actually, we got caught after the cut-off but the staff was nice enough to let the kids grab some cereal before everything got cleared away. We spent the rest of the day stretching our legs at the park and visiting my grandparents. The next day we headed home again.

This trip was so quick I never really got a chance to knit aside from 30 minutes on Sunday morning, though that’s good. Too much down time would mean I wasn’t visiting my grandparents properly so, well done, me. I’m not really good at knitting in the car since I take my pilot/co-piloting very seriously…unless I’m given permission to nap. Then, I nap.

I’m happy we took the road trip from So. Cal to Utah, even if it was for a short time. It’s a trip I made with my family when I was a kid, and it’s a beautiful drive. But, it’s back to the work grind for me while the kids are still on Summer vacation chillin’ at home with their Dad. I already have our next Family Adventure but I won’t reveal anything. Spoilers.

Leave a Reply

