What ever happened to the Great Red Coat?

Back in April, I started the Highlander’s Wife MKAL and simultaneously cast on the Great Red Coat thinking the MKAL shawl would be so easy that I’d need to have a secondary project to keep myself busy. It’s true, I needed a little something to keep me busy…for the first two weeks. After that, my plan went straight down the toilet. I didn’t need anything to keep me busy while I waited for the next clue, I needed more time! The MKAL started to teach me lessons about time management somewhere around the third clue. I hadn’t progressed as much as I would have liked so I was behind. I kept a laser focus on the MKAL and didn’t come up for air until it was washed and blocked. Just as I was about to pick up the coat, my second son asks me to make him a new blanket.

There was no way I was going to get away with bumping a new blanket down on my mental knitting queue. This request for a new blanket was made last summer, and he graciously took a break from asking during the winter. Now that summer is upon us again, and he has grown several inches, I had to make his blanket next. He wanted a Superhero theme, I wanted to use yarn from my stash. Since I had some green and black, I came up with Loki Blanket. It was another project that grew exponentially so my estimation of a week turned into two and change.

This week, I finally got around to starting the coat again. I found out I only had about four or five inches of smocking to do on the back before the shoulder shaping and final bind-off. I was genuinely surprised I had made so much progress, but that happens when it’s been a month since I even looked at the coat. Three cheers for me because I have possession of all the components: extra yarn, pattern, stitch markers, cable needle, WIP, and sanity. I was a little worried I’d lost something because I could lose my car key in my hand, so it was nice to find my WIP in its project bag with all the notions still inside.

img_1422

The back is finished and I’m working on the front panels. Lefty is sailing right along which makes me a little cocky about the right side. No worries, though. I’ll get a big fat reality check with the sleeves. I always forget how much they have to grow…and there’s two of them…and they’re long. Wait, why am I doing this? Oh, right. Future warmth.

I still love you, coat!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

