Short-Sleeved and Sweet

I’d had my eye on Wendy’s Pullover by Ruthie Nassbaum for quite a bit of time. I was immediately drawn to the Peter Pan collar and the use of fingering weight yarn since I wanted a lighter weight sweater. Wendy’s Pullover is a classically shaped Poor Boy that looked like it should already be in my closet.

Looking through my stash, I paired some Tosh Sock in Twig for the body with ModeWerk fingering in Daryl Dixon for the collar. I eagerly started on the 3″ of ribbing and tore straight through the 11″ of stockinette that followed. It wasn’t until I counted my stitches after the second time I performed the underarm bind-off that I found out I was one stitch off. One. Looking all over the fabric, I found the slacker stitch that was hanging off the selvedge edge somewhere around the 4″ mark.

The needle at the bottom marks the point I lost the stitch.

Heartbroken, I frogged 10″ of fabric until I caught all the stitches, then I put it aside. Instead, I picked up a new ball of yarn and started making the front. If I had any chance of keeping my sanity, I had to work two-at-a-time. It was the only way I could be okay with essentially making three body pieces. I worked the pattern until I was matched on both sides and continued along, two-at-a-time to the underarm.

img_1111
I finished the front first since it didn’t involve difficult things like button plackets and holes, then the back. After quickly making the sleeves, I steam blocked everything to make sewing easier. I seriously recommend blocking anything with sleeves before sewing. It definitely makes the difference between an odd pucker and a smooth finish. The nightmares committed during my first sweater are too horrible to discuss, but this sweater turned out beautiful. And the Peter Pan collar wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be.

img_1360-1
Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot of attention that needs to be paid on the collar but it’s not bad.

img_1359
Despite a 10″ setback, I’m really happy how quickly the sweater came together. There is no shaping in the body so it can go by quickly if you don’t hate stockinette. I call it a Waiting Room Project since I could easily knit a few stitches or a few rows and not lose my place during the constant disruption that can accompany any appointment. I like knowing I have an easy, deeply satisfying pattern in my library that can be created happily, and with almost no thought. It’s the kind of pattern that can instantly bring me two minutes of bliss that will last the whole day.

img_1347-1

Now, all I have to do is wait until next winter to wear my Short-Sleeved and Sweet Sweater. I’m not happy about having to wait, but at least I sewed the buttons on the back. For me, that’s huge. I will knit the crap out of a project, steam it, seam it, and weave it without complaint, but ask me to put on buttons and you’ll be waiting forever. I don’t keep a big stockpile of buttons so I always have to go out and individually match project to button. When I actually do make buttoned projects, they usually stay completely finished, save for buttons, for months. It’s the most slacker thing I do in my knitting but I’m okay with it. One day I’ll conquer the tedium of buttons and I will conquer the world. Until then, I’m content to keep my sad little system in place.

Leave a Reply

