Keeping busy

I have this a gorgeous yarn I bought back in college, which I made into a hooded baby blanket with sizing issues. I knit this back when I didn’t know what I was really doing but I wanted to do it anyhow. Technically, it’s a hood and a blanket because I never attached the two pieces. Anyhow, it stayed in my Future Frog group until recently. I had the time and thought to frog the large blanket part, wash it, and hang the hanks. I took a quick little picture to document my triumph. It’s not the prettiest of pics but it makes me happy.

Dr. Martens and my purse make great weights

In case there is any curiosity, this is how I did it:

  1.  Frog the Yarn and wind it into a hank on a yarn swift.
  2. Wash the hank, letting it soak for at least 15 minutes.
  3. Squeeze out excess water and towel-roll it dry.
  4. Hang the yarn with weight attached at the bottom until it is dry.

I can’t wait to figure out what I’m going to do with this yarn. Actually, this is the very skein that got me started on hand painted yarns so many years ago. I was sad to see it squeezed into a hooded blanket but I’m happy to see what form it will take in the future.

Leave a Reply

