Dear Daphne

I’ve been mentioning this test cowl but haven’t given it the proper attention it needs, so here goes.

The Daphne Cowl is a fabulous little cowl that could knit up in a weekend–a day if you can spare the time. I used the most perfect yellow IMHO, and that means a lot. I’m not usually a yellow person because I can’t wear it but I LOVE this color: Madelinetosh Tosh DK in Candlewick.

I had originally used this yarn to make the Wrapped in Leaves shawl by Alana Dakos from her Botanical Knits collection but I ended up one leaf short of finishing the border. The poor boy got frogged. Then it started to get turned into a horribly striped blanket cardigan, which was quickly rethought once I saw how those colors worked in practice. Trust, it was not pretty. I wasn’t convinced I should make a yellow cowl–especially if I was going to be the wearer, but I did it anyhow. And you know what? It looks great!


  
It’s a little wide and could be an inch taller but I think that had to do with the fact that I had pretty much knit up the whole thing before discovering I had  k3tog instead of p3tog. Rookie mistake, I know, but it gets a bit confusing when I’m used to reading regular patterns and mentally marking all the WS instructions (usually even numbered rows) as backwards since I don’t turn my work. It has been a long time since I’ve worked on a project in-the-round. I’m a little rusty.

All said, I think it’s a fabulous little cowl and I wouldn’t mind having two or three around to suit my mood or for gift-giving purposes. I will be seeing you again, friend!

Leave a Reply

