New Yarn!

Six months ago, I got an idea in my head to make a sweater coat. I looked through my stash for five yarns that would fit the bill and came up short. I looked online and found myself drawn toward The Woolen Rabbit, a yarn company I have used only once before and I loved it. Anyhow, there was a gradient companion kit called Sumptuous Quartz I thought would make a beautiful coat.

The kit was too small to suit my needs so I e-mailed Kim at The Woolen Rabbit to find out the colors used in the kit. She happily told me the names and advised me to get the yarn custom dyed. Some of the colors were unlisted on the site but custom dyed yarn will honor all color requests. I performed a lot of math to determine which sport yarn base would match my budget and the overall look I wanted to achieve. I decided on the Opulence base, which is 50% silk, 50% merino. The colors are Rose Quartz, Silver Fox, Daddy Steelbucks, Chimney Sweep, and Raven.

Custom dyed Opulence yarn base from The Woolen Rabbit

Truth be told, I’ve been sitting on this yarn for about a month. I love it a lot but I can’t do anything with it right now because I am desperately behind on my baby blankets and I’m a bit ridiculous for volunteering to do two test items: one sweater, and one cowl. I suppose my distraction projects are at an all-time high. It’s been a really long time since I had five projects at once.

Leave a Reply

