Revenge of the babies

Every now and then there seems to be a baby boom. Right now, I’m kind of in the middle of one. One friend had a baby last month, I have another due in October, and another friend with TWINS coming in December! There’s another baby whose entry to the world is imminent but I’m unsure of the due date. That makes a grand total of FIVE baby blankets to make by the end of the year. While totally doable, I’m kind of stunned. I guess I hadn’t done the actual math on due dates.

First, I start with baby Matilda’s Jade Colored Blanket from the Undercover Baby Blanket by Beata Jezek, knit in Madelinetosh Vintage. So far, it’s knitting up very nicely, but I never have anything bad to say about Madelinetosh yarns. The pattern calls for US 8 needle but I’m using US 7 since the pattern, also, stated gauge is not important. I have four skeins of this stuff and I intend to use all of it.

I haven’t a clue what I’m going to do for the other baby blankets but I hope inspiration strikes soon. There’s nothing quite as doom-inducing as a creative To-Do list without a plan.

Today is Monday and if I’m going to play by my own rules, I need to finish this blanket quick. I’ve spent all weekend working hard (between laundry and Mommy duties) so I only have a skein-and-a-half to go. My plan is to finish the lace repeat I will inevitably be working on when I join the final skein, then start the seed stitch border.

In case a reminder is needed, Wednesday is the One Year Anniversary of Yarn Fast 2: Electric Boogaloo. This baby blanket will be the final project in my 12-project/12-month Yarn Fast requirement. The blanket will be finished this month so I’m still going to count it toward my goal, but it’d be even better if I could finish it by Wednesday. The added benefit of the Wednesday finish is that I won’t have to take it with me when we go on vacation. Boom! Everybody wins.

For real, though, I gotta go knit.

Leave a Reply

