Rusty Venture Booty Call

The past few weeks have been a bit…difficult, creatively. I had this idea to make a capelet from a book I love but haven’t managed to make anything from yet, Fez by Debbie Bliss. My first yarn choice was Eco Duo by Cascade Yarns. Gorgeous stuff. Love it. However, the way the pattern worked up had me question my yarn choice simply because the variegation of the yarn kind of started to stripe (very minorly) and I wasn’t having any of that. So, I frogged it. After that was a downward spiral of incorrect gauges and yardage issues. So I gave up.

Then I was reminded of all the tiny little babies born, currently gestating, and those yet to come. Very Dickens. Very handy, too. It turns out I was probably riding a yarn store high or just traded random pretty yarns for the ones I couldn’t stand keeping in my stash anymore but my yardages are so fucked, I can’t even talk about it. However, the yardages lend themselves quite nicely to children’s garments. I just have to make myself believe the garments will make it through their respective first washings intact, and unfelted. That’s a lot of believing.

Then I remembered the sweater I’m still working on: The Husand Sweater v 2.1 a.k.a. The Rusty Venture. Ah, the Rusty Venture. I’ve been working on this thing way longer than I’d like to admit. I’m pretty sure it was legitimately Winter when I started. It’s been a slow burn and I can’t seem to make it go any faster, though my progress has been anything but steady. I have a sleeve and-a-half to go before I can sew up the seams and add the collar. I’ve had a sleeve and-a-half to go for the last three (?) weeks. I’ll start and get in to the groove of the ribbing pattern, then I’ll lose interest and just carry it around for a while until I have enough focus and time to work on it again. It’s essentially the knitting equivalent to a Booty Call. I only look for it when I want it but I keep it close when I don’t so I know it is ready when I am.

Somewhere in the mix, I had a brilliant idea to knit a white lace cardigan for myself. Clearly, I have an abundance of time on my hands which affords me the luxury to knit all of these fabulous things! Isn’t it obvious? I still have grand illusions of making the cardigan, but later. If I started it now, it would go to the WIP Graveyard where it would remain in a bag until it is unearthed in five years. It’s best to keep the illusion, and not the practice.

Currently, I still carry that half-sleeve in my project bag along with the mini-balls leftover from the sweater panels. Every night I have a great hope (or delusion) I will knit some stitches. Every night, I sit down for a little tv with the Husband, knitting by my side where it remains. It’s a rut I’m in and I will eventually get out of it. Hopefully, soon, cuz I need to start working on something else! I’m not starting another project until I finish the Rusty Venture. Last time I put down Rusty Venture to start an alternate project, I finished it first. Rusty remains. I can’t do it to Rusty again. He deserves more.

To Rusty!

Leave a Reply

