SOCKS!

I’ve never knit socks. I’ve been knitting for over a decade and I’ve never made socks.

Until a few days ago!!!

The Husband and I are kind of Anglophiles, though he prefers not to subscribe to that kind of labeling. In our different ways, we have some deep soft spots for things like classic British Literature, the Doctor, Eddie Izzard, miserable weather, and emotionally hardened people with an unmatched capacity for (sometimes very dark) comedy. I loved Drop Dead Fred and Tim Curry as a kid. I grew up to love tortured love stories; Persuasion is my favorite book. The Husband reads Sherlock Holmes books, LOVES Neil Gaiman, and grew up watching Doctor Who and Monty Python on PBS. When we combined our books and media, we found out we had a few duplicates, two of them Nick Hornby novels. I’ve knit him a Doctor Who scarf. We prefer not to be called Anglophiles. If there were ever misfits in the world, they would be us, I tell ya.

What I found in the Fall/Winter 2014 edition of Jane Austen Knits was a pair of socks called “Socks for Mr. Bennett’s Leisure“. They are a thicker sock made in a herringbone pattern. I chose to use a hand-dyed yarn from Indigo Dragonfly called TARDIS, which is a great combination of black and dark blue. I love Indigo Dragonfly because all the yarns are named referencing some awesome shows like Doctor Who, Firefly, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The Big Bang Theory. They’re Canadian so not much stuff makes it down to the states, but a few places have it. I got it from the Yarnover Truck over the summer.
So far, they look ENORMOUS! However, measuring things out makes me more secure because the pattern makes for a tighter material. I’ll have more of a clear idea of what’s going on when I turn the heel.

Have I mentioned I’ve never done socks before?! Cuz I haven’t and I’m a little scared. I don’t know why, though. I’ve done short row shaping, wrap ‘n turns, in the round, and Kitchener stitch. I knit lace, sweaters, shawls, hats, mittens, gloves, scarves, cowls, infinity loops, onesies, afghans, blankets, and bears! I knit forward, backward, I can pick AND throw; I double knit, cable, duplicate stitch, and I have a few finishing techniques under my belt. But socks? They have me cowering in the corner like a lady in a horror film.

I have a handle on all the practical elements, duh, but giving in to the knitting tradition of sock-making is a little frightening. I have the endurance to push through a pair of socks because I’ve knit enough sleeves and “other” sides of things to be able to make pairs match, and small needles don’t scare me. Good-ness, I have enough single skeins and odd yardage to make a whole army of socks! I just haven’t. Why? I don’t know. Let’s just file this under “Unreasonable Chicken Shit” and call it a day.

Well, Chicken Shit, no longer!  Carpe Knitting!

Leave a Reply

