What IS this?

I have knitting ADD right now. It’s coming on so hard I can’t think straight.

I started knitting my Husband a sweater MONTHS ago but I just can’t get into it. I’m not even that far! It’s shameful, really. I dumped the sweater in favor of the lacy shell top for myself–the one I thought was ugly until it was finally washed and blocked. Then I started a shawl and ONLY picked the sweater back up because I happened to leave my shawl project in my desk over the weekend. Horror. Shame. I have shamed myself. There are no excuses.

I bought the new Vogue Knitting magazine and Jane Austen Knits Fall/Winter 2014 and added both to my Ravelry library. Flipping through the Jane Austen Knits I came across a pair of socks I thought might intrigue my Husband. They’re called Mr. Bennet’s Leisure and I plan on making them out of Indigo Dragonfly’s TARDIS colorway. I mean, COME ON! That’s perfect! It’s a little bit of both of us stuffed in the shape of a pair of socks! He agreed. He even agreed to dumping the sweater in favor of the socks! I don’t blame him, though. He’s been asking for me to knit him socks FOR-EV-VER. Of course he’s going to say, “Yes, please,” when I pick out a pattern and yarn and say, “That. I’m going to make you that.”

This is where it starts to get a little sick.

I have both the shawl and sweater commingling with the newly balled yarn, newly purchased needles, and pattern magazines. None have been touched since our week has been jam-packed full of appointments and activities.

I know.

It’s not that I hate the sweater. I don’t! I think it’s beautiful. The pattern, however, is a little…The lace stuff keeps me interested. Lace repeats give me goals. I like goals. The sweater is a never-ending repeat of an elongated rib for 16 inches! Dude, I’d prefer knitting stockinette cuz, at least with that I can knit blindly while watching TV. This is just complicated enough that I can’t flow through it easily, without thought. The bright side is it’s worsted so it’ll go quick.

Wait a minute.

I’m a dumbass. I’m a dumbass AND a masochist!

I traded in a worsted project that made me twitch in my seat for MULTIPLE fingering weight projects. (Honestly, I couldn’t call them fingering projects. I am 12 years old. Tee-hee. Tee-hee-hee-hee. Tee-hee.) I have problems.

Obviously, I need to build in more time for knitting. For reals, though, because I’m pretty sure that’s why I’m collecting projects. I think to myself, Maybe this will be the perfect little project to get me a fix of a few secret stitches during the day. Maybe this one will hold my attention long enough to get finished. Maybe this one will make me happy!

Not knitting stresses me out.

Leave a Reply

