It feels like fall

I finished my mittens. They were completed a little after the Olympics finished but we’ll call it a win because I actually finished them. Yes, I went rather small in project and large in yarn and it took over two weeks but that’s what my life has become. And since this is a hard truth I’ve had to accept, I’ve decided to take my new time handicap into consideration for future projects. One such project: a sweater for Turtle’s school. They’re only allowed to wear green, gold, or white outerwear so I decided to make him a sweater out of this gorgeous-turned-hideous-turned-genius green wool-ease yarn from Lion Brand. It’s called Kelly Green and I was absolutely in love with it when I bought it. Then it turned on me and I called it ugly and I didn’t know what I was going to do with it. NOW, it’s completely fortuitous that I have it because now I don’t have to go out and spend money on yarn. I totally WANT to but I don’t have to. Honestly, if I had it my way, it’d be a gold sweater made from natural fiber but using the stash instead of adding to the hoard is a much more practical idea.

I don’t know if it’s the knitting and advanced planning or if the slight shift in temperature has triggered a little Fall Countdown clock in me but whatever it is, it’s there. It started with a little project built for cooler weather, then morphed into a preference for chai tea lattes over coffee. The need for heartier dinners is starting to take over and soon it will culminate in an apple pie. Usually around late September I get this undeniable urge to make an apple pie. THAT’S when I know Fall has arrived. It’s a difficult thing to tell here in the desert–it’s more something I feel.

Right now I’m reviewing my old knitting magazines and books, looking for inspiration for things to make. Believe me, the inspiration is there but the time isn’t. I still haven’t made anything for my sister’s eminent baby, nor have I made anything for my little Rye Guy. For the Rye Guy, I have to narrow it down to one thing. For the new baby, I just haven’t found inspiration. I have a pattern, I have the colors, I have the basic idea of what she wants but I don’t know, just yet, how to make it all fit together. I should figure it out soon otherwise, this baby is going to be teething before I get it figured out. It’s kind of a problem.

Because I’m a glutton for punishment, let’s review my mental queue!

In no particular order:

Baby swaddled
Bear’s cowl
Sweater for myself
Socks for myself (because there isn’t anything more comforting than curling up in a pair of hand knit socks and a hand knit sweater.)
Turtle’s sweater
socks for the boys
Superhero
Batman
afghan
Amelia hat
something for Rye Guy
blanket for Rye Guy
fuzzy Christmas tree
Door handle covers (for work)

I’m sure I’m missing several things that were in a previous post last year but I just don’t care to revisit it. Also, I don’t think I can face that much monumental failure.

But fall is in the air. I can feel it in my bones and that’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

