Bargain Hunting Knitter

Borders is closing. So sad. Or is it? Every single store is having a close out sale and the we (the public) reap the benefits. I checked out the sale the first weekend it started. Decent prices but I could wait. This brings me to about three weeks later when further price reductions have been put into effect. Ooh, how I love me some price reductions.

Initially, the crafting section was 10% off but now it’s 25% off. Sales are my stock market. I have to decide if the deal being presented is worth what I want. 25% off makes it worth it. I didn’t go nuts, I only bought three books.

Two are pattern books, one is a how-to on pattern making and adaptation. It might be useful in the future, it might not. There was only one and I have been toying with the idea of making my own patterns without any clue how to do it. Now for $16 I can take as much time as I need to figure it out.

I’m really excited about the pattern books. I’ve been coveting the baby knits book since December. I’ve been flirting with the other book for a little time but couldn’t justify buying it for one or two patterns. I have since found a third pattern I like. Justified.

Here is a peek at the patterns I would be making now if I weren’t working on something already.

Jasper Diamond Hoodie

Otto Short-Sleeved Pullover

Rufus Textured Cardigan

Milo Soakers
includes instructions on how to lanolize the soakers to make them water resistant

Audrey Hoodie

I’m beyond stoked about my purchase and have mentally ear-marked one more book (the latest Stitch ‘n Bitch) that left me on the fence. There were a few copies of it so I’m not too worried about it. Part of me wants it for (again!) one or two patterns, the other part wants to finish off the Stitch ‘n Bitch set with the newest edition. These are not good enough reasons to get it… at least not at 25% off. I’ll need it to get to 35% before I make any kind of commitment. 

One thought on “Bargain Hunting Knitter

Leave a Reply

