Rose Lawn Lace: BB4

I AM FINALLY DONE!!!

I am incredibly happy to be done with this blanket. Let there be no misunderstanding: I think this is a beautiful blanket but I’d rather get it than make it again. The color is quite a nice bright melon color and the lace pattern is simply beautiful. It will make some mommy-to-be very happy. It makes me happy since I don’t have to do anything but give it away now.

I may have made the Saga of BB4 a bit more than it was. It’s not like I absolutely hated the experience. A more positive person would call it an exercise in patience. I am just happy to call it “done” and leave it at that. Yes, the color was a bit much. I am not used to dealing with such a bright vibrant color and now I know why I don’t: I get agitated. It may have been just this particular shade. It may have been the general orange family. It may have been the Day-Glo effect the yarn achieved in most lighting. I’m not really sure of the cause of the agitation but I know a side project definitely helped.

I’m not happy it took a month to finish but two simultaneous projects finished within one total month is pretty good. Part of me wonders if I would have gotten this blanket finished faster if I had the one project going. The other part of me believes I’d still be “working on it” after I abandoned it for BB5 or some kind of knitting mini-break.

Here’s the somewhat sick part: I’ve already started my next project. It’s a shrug with a lace pattern on the back. It’s from the Summer 2011 Debbie Bliss Magazine and I’m very excited about it. I’ve been dreaming about it–I’m not gonna lie. With only two seconds thought of, “Should I make the shrug or design/search for a pattern for BB5,”I started the shrug. I started it immediately after I finished the blanket. I haven’t even woven in the ends yet and I’m okay with that. It’s going to take only 10 minutes to finish and then I block it. Actually, I have to block everything but I’d rather wait until they’re all finished to do the blocking than waste water and do them individually. That’s my rationale, at least.

At long last, here it is:

I will start on BB5 after I finish the shrug. It’s progressing rather quickly. I mean, c’mon. It’s a shrug. I haven’t put any though into what BB5 will look like and I don’t have to. Right now I’m working on my “palate cleanser” and I’m happy with that.
One thought on “Rose Lawn Lace: BB4

Leave a Reply

