Baby Blanket #2–Feather and Fan

 I finally finished BB2, the feather and fan blanket. I didn’t have much to do but for some reason I couldn’t manage to complete two more sets of the stitch pattern, bind off and weave in the ends for two days. Lame if you ask me. But, I managed to finish on my birthday. Happy Birthday to me, I got two projects done during the shortest month of the year. I WIN!

Now, my problem is figuring out what to do for my next baby blanket project. It may seem like I’m obsessing over these baby blankets–and I am–but I want to bang them out quickly so I can move on to something else. My usual MO would be to make these two blankets, get stumped, come up with a FANTASTIC idea of something else and execute it leaving the rest of the blankets for another time. When? Half past Oh, damn! I gotta work on those blankets! I’d rather sit in a pile of my yarn for two days waiting for inspiration to strike than switch gears to another project and forget about them. Or have the guilt of not getting to the blankets done sooner.

SO!

What have I been doing? Sitting in a pile of my own yarn for a few days. Actually, it’s quite productive. You remember that giant knot I had?

I’m working it out!
The kids are at my mom’s house for a few days (as a birthday present) so I’ve been able to devote the better part of two days to rolling balls from this giant mess. I’m going to guess that I have about five large balls left in the knot but it’s still progress.
Part of my problem is that I had an idea for a blanket that involved a few colors but I wasn’t sure if I had enough to achieve my vision. The yarn I wanted to use was in the giant knot. Now it’s almost all out and I’ll be able to start on this hypothetical blanket very soon. I just have to figure out if I want chevron stripes or squares. Decisions, decisions.
**UPDATE**
Feather and Fan pattern from Knitting on the Edge by Nicky Epstein
Listed under “fan fair”
multiple of 18 sts
Row 1: (RS)knit
Row 2: purl
Row 3: *K2tog 3 times, [yo, k1] 6 times, k2tog 3 times; rep from * to end
Row 4: knit
Colors used: White, Light Mint, Sea Foam
Start with White, repeat pattern 3 times. Switch to Light Mint, repeat pattern 3 times. Switch to Sea Foam, repeat 3 times. Switch to Light Mint, repeat 3 times. Switch to White, repeat until desired length is reached. Repeat the stripe pattern previously established in reverse order (Light Mint, Sea Foam, Light Mint, White). Bind off.
Leave a Reply

