Early Birthday Present

Silk Garden sock by Noro

In the midst of looking for some yarn to do the Lyric Tree pattern, I was pleasantly surprised by a request for my Noro Silk Garden sock yarn. It’s made in Japan, consisting of 40% wool, 25% silk, 25% nylon & 10% mohair.


When I lived at the beach, my local yarn store (the now closed A Mano Yarn Center in Venice) had a sock yarn club. For a sum of money, you could join and get enough yarn (usually one skein) to make a pair of socks for six months. Every month would bring a new yarn that was not in the store. They were basically sampling yarns for customer feedback. 


I joined and this is one of yarns included. I wasn’t really keen on the idea of having mohair on my feet so the yarn has stayed in my stash for two years. Also, I was a bit hesitant to trade it since normally it’s a bit expensive and I was sure I could figure out something to do with it.


I finally decided it was time to put it up in my “trade stash” on ravelry because I wanted my trade options to seem a bit more appealing to prospective traders. More specifically, I was hoping to rope in the knitters who have the 6-10 skeins I want. My plan worked but not in the fashion I was hoping. Celticknittingal offered me a trade. She wanted my Noro in exchange for one set of her Knit Picks Essential yarn. Sock yarn for sock yarn. It wasn’t exactly what I had in mind but I’ll take it. It also solidified my resolve to trade it. Seriously, within a day of sticking it up for trade, it was snatched up.

Knit Picks Essential

Last night I went to the monthly knit group at Denny’s and came home to find a nice little package for me in the mail box. MY YARN HAD ARRIVED!!! I was super-excited since I hadn’t seen a picture of this yarn. I only got a description and various internet pictures. But I knew it was green and tweed and what could possibly go wrong there? The Answer: nothing. It’s Essential by Knit Picks in Lumberjack Tweed. It’s fantastic and it might be used for Twinkle Twinkle Little Socks by Aimee Skeers, though I’ll have to practice a few things before tackling that project. Happy birthday to me.

One thought on “Early Birthday Present

Leave a Reply

