468

That is the number of stitches I have cast-on for a scarf.
Why?
I have to cast-on the number of stitches for the length of the scarf. Then I will knit until I achieve the width I desire.
468 is the number of stitches required to make a six-foot long scarf with a 26-stitch per 4-in. gauge using the linen stitch. I chose this stitch because it has a kind of dripping effect when changing colors. I have thought about (and purchased yarn for) making a long skinny scarf using this method. As it turns out, I will not be making this scarf for myself nor will I be using the yarn I originally bought for this pattern.

I was asked to make this scarf keeping in mind the colors teal, pink and purple. When I displayed these colors as a family unit, it turned out to be a hideous combination. Since I had used three different purples, I was asked to just keep it purple and continue with my pattern. Excellent.

Then I did the math for my creation. And this is where I stand.

Since I’m using remnant yarn balls, I’m not entirely sure I’ll be able to make the scarf how I want. I have one full skein of lavender, one large ball of “Sour Grapes”–you know, from Strawberry Shortcake–and one large ball of plum. Then, I have several small balls of “Sour Grapes” and plum.

My fear: running out of yarn and having to start all over from scratch using a slightly different color design.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, I give to you MY ORIGINAL TEMPLATE!!

My Hideous Combination. I swear there are three purples but two of them are so dark, you can’t tell the difference. I think it looks like some Santa Fe Barbie Dream House rug.
2 thoughts on “468

Leave a Reply

