All cookies and no fun

I’ve been neglecting my knitting. Cookies are to blame. Dozens upon dozens of cookies. I ended up over- and underestimating how many batches of cookies I’d need. Five different kinds. All have different quantities in the end. I am not a fan of making cookies for the masses. This is mainly due to the fact that it’s rather hard to do a three-day job with two little kids running around and one inside slowing me down. What would take a normal child-less person three days of baking, decorating and boxing took me a week-and-a-half. Or at least, that’s how it felt. The best part is that I now have a master list of double vs. triple batches, ordered by tedium, cross referenced with time and temp. Really, it’s a grocery list with a few Sharpie notes on it but the other way sounds fancier. But, yes. Cookies took over my life.

Now that I’m no longer baking cookies for the masses, I theoretically have time to knit. I just don’t have the oomph. After Christmas, all I wanted to do was sit back and do nothing. And I got to do as much Nothing as I could with two little boys. But my deadline looms and I have four days to finish up the front, make the sleeves and sew it all together. It’s not hard. I just have to shift into gear and get it done otherwise it’ll turn into the Evil Blanket and that is just unacceptable.

So, here I am: near the end of my project and ready to quit. Well, not quit but let it go and watch the deadline pass by. Then, what would be the point of this whole blog if I let my deadlines pass by without a care? The purpose of the blog is to keep myself honest and have it in writing.

I’m off to KICK ASS!

One thought on “All cookies and no fun

  1. Alright, I'm holding you accountable now! You better be working on your project! Since the two projects I had for Christmas presents have now turned into birthday presents, I can't talk too much crap but oh well haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

