My six for your nine

I was recently contacted by someone who wanted to trade yarn on ravelry.com. She wanted six of my skeins and let me take my pick from her yarns. What a treat!

She had some brands I love (Rowan, Debbie Bliss) and some that were new to me. I really love natural fibers and have been devouring them like mad. I know that not all acrylic is created equal but most of the stuff I have is the cheapest Red Heart available. That stuff would survive an apocalypse. Perhaps when I build my bomb shelter, I’ll line it with that stuff. I kid.

After I was made aware that she has LOTS more yarn to trade that weren’t catalogued online, I decided to stick with the stuff I could see so we could expedite the whole process.

She took three each of these:

I took this:

The two hanks on the right were not part of the original deal. They’re more like please-excuse-my-tardiness compensation presents. She just stuck them in the bag like an apology without any explanation. I wanted to make sure it wasn’t a mistake. She assured me it was purposeful. It’s nice to know I’m not the only nutter out there who would add an apology present if it was suitable.

My compensation present is sock yarn that is 50/50 wool/bamboo. Bamboo! How rad is that!? Win? I think yes.

I don’t know what I’m going to do with my traded nine but it’s 70% silk/30% cotton. And pink. And tweed. By Rowan. Summer tweed, they call it. Maybe if I’m feeling generous and the baby is a girl, she’ll get a fancy blanket. If not, maybe I’ll get a tank top I can wear in two years. I toy with the idea of making something for one of the girls my friends have but I have already inflicted enough hand washables for children on people. It’s starting to seem mean.

Hooray! for trades! Hooray! for Ms. Chang from Georgia! Hooray! for presents in the mail!

One thought on “My six for your nine

Leave a Reply

